The Day My Baby Was Born

On October 6th 2007 was the day I woke up with these strange feelings.  It wasnt painful but it was different, so I was guessing they were contractions.  It was about 8 in the morning and I woke up my husband and told him I thought I was having contractions.  My baby’s due date was October 9th so we were pretty close to the due date.  I took a shower and got ready for the day because like I said they weren’t painful.  Then I called my doctor and told her that they were consistent and pretty close together. She told me to take a bath.  I was so mad!  It sounds funny now but I just got ready and did not feel like getting in a hot bath tub.  So that what I did, took a bath and the contractions stayed the same so she told me to come on down to the hospital.  We lived 30 minutes away and on the way I realized I didn’t have enough memory on my cameras card so we went to walmart and walked around until we found a memory card.  We finally got to the hospital and they said, “Yep you’re in labor.”  It went by pretty fast.  I walked around the hospital and around 4 or 5 that day they broke my water.  I did it all natural and by 8:06 Grace Bella Atkins was born. At 6 pounds she was just the right weight.  Everything went wonderfully.  She was this little amazing girl with just a little bit of red hair and bright blue eyes.  It was a great day.  I remember I was so hungry about 2 hours after I delivered her because they wouldn’t let me eat all day.  My husband went and got me a sandwich at the hospital lunch room.  That night went pretty good.  She slept well enough to get some rest.  But we had to stay one more day and night in the hospital so the next night was trouble.  It was a crazy thunderstorm so all you heard was thunder and saw lightning flashes through the window.  She was up almost all night. I was one of the best days of my life having her.  She is now almost four and she is an amazing little girl.  I’m due again in December so I know she will be a wonderful big sister.  We don’t know what we are having this time so it will be a wonderful surprise!

I wrote this blog post while participating in the SocialMoms and Tommee Tippee blogging contest for a chance to get a gift pack worth $50. For more information on how you can participate,  Click on this: http://www.socialmoms.net/forum/topics/share-your-memories-of-the-day-your-child-was-born-for-a-chance-t  Also go to :The Day Baby Was Born: http://www.thedaybabywasborn.com/

 

One thought on “The Day My Baby Was Born

Leave a Reply

