10 Tips for keeping my family safe on the road.

We have gone on many road trips.  We move a lot so I thought this blogging program was perfect for me.  This blog submission is for Safelite AutoGlass.  I did not know this but automobile safety experts ranked the windshield as the 3rd most important safety component.  Its ranks 3rd behind seatbelts and airbags.  I guess I just never thought of that.  Here are some tips from Safelite AutoGlass.  Think you can ignore a chip in your windshield? Think again! The windshield provides up to 30% of your vehicles structural integrity, and a chip smaller than 6 inches (or the size of a dollar bill) can easily be repaired by filling it with a special resin.  A chip could turn into a crack at any time, often when you are least expecting it.  Windshield repair is often a safe and economical alternative to a full windshield replacement.  Scheduling a windshield chip repair is easy! Companies like Safelite AutoGlass provide mobile service – wherever your car is – often within 24 hours of your initial call.  With many insurance companies, there is no deductible for the repair.  Once we had a crack in my husbands windshield and we never got it fixed.  Well we lived in Wyoming in the winter at that time and we turned up the heat in his truck because it was 30 below zero that day.  Well as we where driving it cracked clear across his whole windshield.  It looked so bad and it was right in the middle of our view.  If we just called Safelite to get it fixed in the beginning it would have been fine.  So with my car when I had a little chip, that’s who I called and they fixed it so fast.  You couldn’t even tell it was there.  Tip number one on keeping my family safe on the road is always where seatbelts.  It’s a no brainer but for my husband he has trouble with this one, a few tickets later and I still have to tell him to put it one every now and then, lol.  Number two, put your kids in their carseats, booster seats, seatbelts whatever their age is for.  It is so dangerous having them jumping around your vehicle and not be strapped in.  Number 3 is don’t let your kids sit in the front seat.  The air bags are horrible for them.  I know when I was little my sister and I always where fighting for the front seat but we were lucky.  We never had a bad accident.  The best place for children is in the back.  Number 4 is to put their snacks in the back where they can grab them and eat them with out you reaching back and trying to give it to them.  If they are too little then pull over to help them with their snacks.  Number 5 is to give you kids toys or games before you start on your trip so they have something to do.  Then they are not bugging you the whole time.  Number 6 is to not to text when driving.  I admit it when texting first started I always texted and drove.  Now I realize with all the accidents out there from texting and now having my daughter in the car it’s just dumb to text and drive.  Number 7 is to pull over and eat if you have food for yourself.  Number 8 is to not look in that little mirror above you head to check your makeup or hair.  You can fix it when you get to where you are going.  Number 9 is to not drive if your upset or mad.  You do drive faster and crazier so pull over and calm down before you head out again.  And Number 10 is to make sure everything is fine with your car.  Have an oil change and tire rotation before that big trip.  So check out Safelite AutoGlass to get your windshields fixed write when you have a chip and everything will be great.

I wrote this blog post while participating in the SocialMoms and Safelite blogging program, for a gift card worth $30. For more information on how you can participate go to  http://safelite.socialmoms.com/about

Leave a Reply

